Experience details

  • 18 Feb, 2023
    (Saturday)
  • 09:15am - 10:00am
  • Dale Road, , Shildon, GB, County Durham, DL4 2RE
  • Event website

About this experience

Early Birds is a special early-morning session for visitors with sensory needs who wish to explore the museum in a quieter environment.

It's for anyone who would benefit from a quieter, more relaxed museum opening, including visitors who have an Autism Spectrum Condition, an anxiety disorder, or a Special Educational Need.

The museum will be open eary at 09.15 and will be available exclusively for our Early Bird guests until 10.00, when we open the doors to the general public.

We will be turning off the noisy children's rides and video presentations, but you will still be able to explore the museum and play with the interactive exhibits.

Early Birds sessions take place once a month, with additional sessions available during school holidays.

2023 dates.

Saturday 21 January

Saturday 18 February

Saturday 18 March

Saturday 15 April

Saturday 20 May

Saturday 17 June

Saturday 15 July

Saturday 19 August

Saturday 16 September

Saturday 14 October

Saturday 11 November

Saturday 16 December

  • Accessible parking spaces

  • Accessible toilet

  • Assistance dog friendly

    We provide facilities for assistance dogs

  • Assistive listening

  • Companion/Carer access

    Check the Hidden Disabilities Sunflower member’s website for details

  • Large print

  • Level access

    Level access is available and may include the use of lifts

  • Physical guided tour

    Book a guided tour of the Hidden Disabilities Sunflower member’s environment

  • Quiet hour

    Check the Hidden Disabilities Sunflower member’s website for details

  • Safe/quiet space

    Check the Hidden Disabilities Sunflower member’s website for details

  • Seating available

  • Step-free access

    Access is step-free but may include ramps or slopes